Explore the School
About Us Explore the School
Wycombe Abbey School Nanjing has been designed with a mixture of Eastern and Western styles, and is equipped with state-of-the-art facilities to ensure quality teaching.

Located in Tangshan, Jiangning District, Nanjing, Wycombe Abbey School Nanjing is about 20 km east of the downtown area and adjacent to the picturesque Tangshan Hot Spring Resort, covering an area of 20 acres. The school has been designed with a mixture of Eastern and Western styles, and is equipped with state-of-the-art facilities to ensure quality teaching.

 
 

Blending Chinese and Western Culture

Wycombe Abbey School Nanjing aims to foster pupils who are deeply rooted in their own culture as well as having global vision. This is also demonstrated in the campus design.

 

Most school buildings are built with red bricks together with beige limestone, a common feature of Western schools. The main teaching buildings are of square courtyard design, decorated with colonnades of western style. Buildings are connected via corridors, with the tower, the tallest building on campus, at the center.

 

Opposite the tower lies the Chinese Cultural Center, the main part of which is Qiukou ancestral temple, an ensemble transplanted from Shangrao, Jiangxi Province. It is the perfect venue for Chinese painting and calligraphy lessons, as well as traditional tea ceremonies and other traditional cultural activities. The school has also set up three cultural activities studios to enhance our pupils' cultural education. The multi-functional classrooms right next to the temple can be used for group activities, exhibitions and lectures.

 

A Comfortable Teaching Environment

Each classroom in Wycombe Abbey School Nanjing is equipped with a traditional whiteboard and an electronic interactive screen. The classroom lighting system has also been carefully designed by top professionals, ensuring that pupils can see clearly while no harm is done to their eyesight.

 

Reading is an important aspect of students' learning in Wycombe Abbey schools. The school library offers books in Chinese and English as well as some other languages. Primary School and Secondary School students have separate libraries, both of which are of double-deck design, with upstairs for individual reading and downstairs for lessons and group work.

 

Encouraging Pupils to Try Everything

The STEM center in WAS Nanjing includes laboratories and a Design Centre, as well as a Music and Art Centre. Students can conduct various experiments in the laboratories, practice their craftsmanship in the Design Centre, or take part in a variety of performances in the Music and Art Centre.

 

At the same time, we also provide our students with the best possible sports facilities. The sports stadium is equipped with a 25-meter swimming pool with 8 lanes, which is up to FINA standards. It also has professional diving towers and starting platforms. Full-size basketball courts as well as rock-climbing walls are also available inside the campus.

 

Making Students Feel at Home

The school is able to provide accommodation for 1028 pupils from grade 1 to grade 12. As students move into the higher grades, more of them will choose to board. Dormitories for grade 1-5 pupils are all equipped with single beds, rather than bunks, to ensure greater safety. Each room can accommodate 4 pupils and has two private bathrooms.

 

Dormitories for grade 6 pupils are equipped with desks and bunk beds. However, the traditional ladder design for the bunks has been replaced by staircase steps to ensure greater safety.

 

For boarding pupils entering  the Secondary School, two pupils live together in one room rather than four.

Secondary School Dorms
For middle school and high school pupils, we provide two-person rooms.

校园探索
关于威雅 校园探索
南京威雅融合了中西教育精髓,传承了两种不同文化。作为萧山地区独特的标志性建筑和二十一世纪现代化教学机构的范例,学校的设计理念也借鉴了英国本土学校和萧山地区当地历史文化背景和底蕴。

威雅南京占地123亩,位于南京江宁区的汤山,距市区以东约20多公里,西临汤山温泉度假区,风景秀丽。学校的设计理念融合东西方文化文化背景和底蕴,并以高标准全方位的教学设施来满足威雅南京高品质教学的要求。

 
 

融合中西文化
威雅南京要培养的,是本心立足中国,博采世界众长的学生。这一点,在学校的景观设计风格中便有所体现。


环境育人,润物无声。在硬件设施方面,南京威雅学校充分借鉴了海外历史悠久的优质本土学校与南京当地历史文化的背景和底蕴,以海纳百川、兼收并蓄、融汇中西的建筑风格,呼应融贯中西精粹的教育理念。学校要培养的,是本心立足中国、博采世界众长的卓越学子,这一点,在学校的景观设计风格中便有所体现——


校园的设计采用西方传统名校的红砖色搭配米色石灰岩色系,教学主楼是回字形庭院设计,引入海外知名学院柱廊特色。各个建筑单体通过风雨连廊围绕着作为校园最高点的钟楼,类似设计常见于西方精英名校,被称之为“精神堡垒”;就在钟楼对面坐落着传统文化中心,这是一个纯中式的庭院,与西式的庭院文化交相呼应,形成南京威雅学校独有的风景线。


传统文化中心的主体是从江西省上饶市搬来的秋口祠堂,以天井院为中心,用回字庑廊联系各个空间,将历史木构建筑与当代建筑巧妙融合,主要做国学讲堂、茶文化沙龙之用。国学讲堂是主要的国学教学空间,可设置传统绘画、书法等课程,亦可在此设置茶课、香课等相关课程。秋口祠堂旁边为现代化的多功能教室,可用作党团活动,作品展览和讲座沙龙等。


为凸显“中国本心”,南京威雅学校将传统中国文化中的文人传统和工匠传统合一,并融入到现代教育中,开设了三个文化沙龙,既弘扬了中国文化传统,又促进中国传统文化走向现代化。融合中西文化的设计,是为了让学生在广泛吸收世界优秀文化之余不忘初心,既知柏拉图与莎士比亚,亦知唐诗宋词、诸子百家。

 

舒适的教学环境
威雅南京每个教室均配备传统白板和电子互动屏交互使用,将最新科学技术融入日常课堂教学。教室的照明和日照经过专业灯光顾问的精确计算,保证孩子的用眼健康和上课专注度。


除了教室之外,威雅南京在图书馆也颇费心思。阅读是威雅学生学习生活非常重要的组成部分,学校配备中英文以及部分第三外语的书籍。小学部和中学部各一个图书馆,均采用上下两层,楼上为阅览区域,楼下为阅读课和小组协作区域。

 

让孩子尝试一切
全人教育始终是南京威雅学校教育设计的核心,我们始终致力让孩子在培养学术能力之余,在个性化的探索中,将兴趣发展为志趣,不断将科学、艺术、美术、音乐、运动等领域的潜能推向极致,为此,学校的 STEAM中心和体育运动中心自然成为建筑设计的重中之重。


学校的STEAM中心 包含实验室、艺术设计中心以及音乐艺术表演中心三大块。实验室除了常规的数理化以及自然实验室外,还包括服装设计教室、陶艺教室、摄影教室、创客中心等,可供学生进行各种实验;艺术设计中心的设备极为先进,学生可以进行木工、切割、焊接等各种机械类操作,尝试亲自制作物品的乐趣;音乐表演艺术中心拥有能容纳近600人的专业表演级剧院,配备专业级剧场视听系统、舞台机械幕布及升降乐池,学校聘请了曾设计海外著名的专业级剧院Grove theater Dunstable的设计公司进行设计,除此之外,还包含2个专业级黑箱剧院、表演排练厅、音乐创作中心和50个隔音练琴房等。


南京威雅学校坚持让学生每天都进行一定强度的运动,通过体育运动锻炼意志、磨练品格、培养竞争与合作意识,因此,学校在体育运动中心的建设方面也不吝成本。学校在设计过程中聘请了专业顾问,按照FINA国际泳联标准设计25米X8赛道的比赛级泳池,以及专业跳台和游泳触发台;还有全尺寸的比赛级篮球馆,场外还配备了攀岩墙。


南京威雅学校希望孩子在最有时间、最有机会尝试的年纪,不要只是被案头功课埋没,而是去尝试无限的可能性。而学校能做的,就是提供足够的硬件,让每一个可能性都变为现实。

 

在校如在家
学校共有1028个床位,从1年级到12年级,随着年级的升高,住宿率也随之升高。小学1-5年级的学生宿舍,因为考虑到安全性,全部采用单人床的形式。一间房间4个孩子,拥有2个独立的卫生间。


小学6年级的学生宿舍中,会多出专门用于学习的课桌,因此会采用上下床的模式,但是会用阶梯上下代替传统的直梯设计,以提高安全性。


到了中学,宿舍将会逐渐从4人间变成2人间。

 
中学宿舍
到了中学,宿舍将会逐渐从4人间变成2人间。