Executive Team
About Us Executive Team
  • Ning Tian
    Founding Headmaster
    Ning Tian, Associate Professor, has extensive educational management theory and practical experience.

    Before serving as Chinese Founding Headmaster of Wycombe Abbey School Nanjing, Mr Tian was involved in teaching and educational management in XiaoZhuang University for 39 years. During that period, he also served as Headmaster of Nanjing Experimental International School, overseeing the successful running of all phases of the school from Kindergarten through to Lower School and Upper School. During his tenure as Headmaster the school underwent tremendous growth and development.

    During his time as Headmaster, Mr Tian was unanimously recognized by all parties of Nanjing society and elected as the Vice President and Executive Vice President of Nanjing Private Education Association, a position he has now held for 20 years.
  • Carlien Shelley
    Founding Executive Head
    Mrs Shelley’s career in teaching and education administration has spanned nearly 20 years, in the UK and China, since she first departed her home country of Australia. Before joining WASNJ, she was Principal of Shrewsbury School Huangpu, Guangzhou. Prior to that, she worked as Deputy Head of Harrow Beijing, at a time when the school saw tremendous growth.

    Mrs Shelley also has the experience of working in two prestigious independent boarding schools in the UK. For 8 years she held the positions of Housemistress as well as Head of Biology at Rugby School. Before that, she worked as Assistant Housemistress and as a teacher of Biology for 5 years at Worth School. After spending nearly 15 years in the UK, she came to China, together with her family, five years ago.

    Mrs Shelley holds a Bachelor’s degree in Secondary Science Teaching as well as a Master’s degree in Educational Leadership.
  • Michael Rust
    Deputy Head Pastoral
    Mr. Michael Rust is the Deputy Principal (Pastoral) at WASNJ, supervising student well-being, safeguarding and child protect, co-curriculum activity and boarding programme. Among his 15 years working experience in schools, Mr. Rust has rotated many crucial management roles respectively in the UK, Dubai and Beijing China. He is particularly good at reading student development concerns thus help them solve problems for better achievement.

    Mr. Michael Rust graduated from the University of Brighton with a BA (Hons) in Physical Education. He is enthusiastic about rugby, skiing and golfing. Mr. Michael Rust is now studying for his Master in Applied Educational Leadership at UCL.
  • Qiang Yuan
    Head of Upper School
    Before joining WASNJ, Mr. Qiang Yuan worked as the Executive Head for Upper School at Nanjing Experimental International School. He has undertaken various roles of leadership in his 30 years professional background. Mr. Yuan has been known for encouraging his students to always pursuit down-to-earth progress as part of their learning process.

    Mr. Yuan believes that education is the conversation between two souls. He expects to contribute at WASNJ and is ready to witness the growth of every student here.
  • Joanne Ladd
    Executive Head of Upper School
    Dr. Joanne Ladds owns a master’s degree in Chemistry, PhD, PGCE and a master’s degree in Education from the University of York and a NPQH (National Qualification for Headship). She’s spent 18 years in education and went through numerous academic leadership positions. Dr. Joanne Ladds is also a member and journal editor of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

    Due to her particular interest in educational research, Dr. Joanne Ladds has been engaged in multiple global education conferences where she discussed with experts on popular topics such as Growth Mindset, STEAM Learning and Progressive Education. Dr. Ladds’ joining to WASNJ will empower the team’s motivation for student’s better learning.
  • Anthony Starkie
    Assistant Head of Upper School
    Mr. Anthony Starkie graduated from Imperial College London with a bachelor’s degree in Physics. He owns 15 years experiences of teaching and management both in the UK and China. Mr. Starkie secured his first teaching role at Staffordshire’s top-performing specialist science school where he led the Physics subject and introduced a GCSE Astronomy enrichment programme. Following that, Mr. Starkie was the founding Head of Science at the UK’s first engineering-specialist University Technical College, leading a bespoke curriculum that combined student learning with real-world industrial challenges. He later worked as Head of Physics in Wolverhampton and London.

    Mr. Starkie has lived in both Wuxi and Shanghai after he decided to move to China, where he held positions in charge of teaching and development of IGCSE and A-Level Physics.As an advocator for life-learning, Mr. Starkie is currently working on his master’s degree in Space Science and Technology. He is also a member of Institute of Physics.

管理团队
关于威雅 管理团队
  • 田宁
    创校校长
    田宁,副教授,拥有极其深厚的教育管理理论和实践经验。

    担任南京威雅学校创校校长之前,他曾在南京晓庄学院从事教育教学及教育管理工作长达39年。期间任职南京实验国际学校校长一职,管理幼儿园、小学、中学各个学部,并于任期内领导学校不断发展壮大,取得了卓越的成绩,受到社会各界一致认可,同时被推举为南京民办教育协会副会长、常务副会长,任职长达20年。
  • 卡琳·雪莱
    创校执行校长
    卡琳·雪莱女士在离开祖国澳大利亚后,在英国和中国从事教学和教育管理工作已经将近20年了。在担任南京威雅学校创校执行校长之前,她担任广州黄埔舒兹伯利学校校长一职。在此之前,卡琳·雪莱女士是北京哈罗的副校长,在她就任期间,学校发展迅猛。

    卡琳·雪莱女士曾就职于英国两所著名的独立寄宿学校。在拉格比公学工作的 8 年时间里,她担任过舍监,以及生物学科负责人。在此之前,她在沃思学校工作 5 年,担任助理舍监以及生物老师。在英国工作15年后,她和家人一起来到了中国。

    卡琳·雪莱女士拥有中学科学教育学士学位以及教育领导力硕士学位,具有丰富的教育教学经验。
  • 迈克尔·鲁斯特
    学生关顾副校长
    迈克尔是负责南京威雅学生关顾的副校长,在校园安全,身心健康,学院、导师和寄宿制度,以及课外拓展课程等方面协助校长的管理,致力于培养快乐、自信的终身学习者。他有着15年之久的教学及领导经验,先后在英国的一所综合性学校担任学科主任、在迪拜的莱普顿学校从事学生关顾领域的工作。在加入南京威雅前,他是北京一所知名国际化学校的学生关顾副总监和寄宿主任,对中国学生的身心发展规律和成长问题有着成熟的把握。

    迈克尔毕业于英国布莱顿大学体育教育专业,擅长橄榄球、滑雪和高尔夫,目前正在攻读伦敦大学学院应用教育领导力硕士学位。
  • 袁强
    中学部校长
    在加入南京威雅之前,袁强曾任南京实验国际学校中学部执行校长,中教一级。在30年职业生涯中,他始终坚持在教学第一线,担任过班主任、年级组长、教务处副主任、政教处主任、常务副校长等,在教学领域,其“务实、求取”的教学风格获得一致好评,并负责中学部国际班的管理和国际交流,积累了丰富的教育教学和管理经验。

    袁强秉持“教育就是用一个灵魂去碰撞另一个灵魂”的教育理念,注重教育的针对性和有效性。他非常期待在南京威雅的工作,希望以最优的投入获得学生成长的最佳回报。
  • 乔安妮·莱德
    中学部执行校长
    乔安妮拥有英国约克大学化学硕士、博士、PGCE和教育硕士学位,以及英国国家校长专业资格证书(NPQH)。从事教育工作的18年间,她曾先后担任科学系主任、职业生涯规划主任、教学总监、学术副校长等职。此外,乔安娜还是英国皇家化学学会成员和期刊编辑。

    乔安娜在教育研究方面有诸多经验,曾多次出席并组织全球教育会议,探讨包括成长型心智(Growth Mind)、STEAM教学、进步主义教育(Progressive Education)等核心议题。作为南京威雅中学部执行校长,乔安娜致力于带领团精诚合作、以身作则,确保学生为未来而学、因热爱而为。
  • 安东尼·斯塔基
    中学部助理校长
    安东尼于伦敦帝国理工学院取得物理学学士学位,拥有逾15年中英两国教学及管理经验。他曾在英国史丹佛郡一所以科学闻名的学校担任物理学科主任,后作为创始科学部主任加入英国首所专攻工程教育的学院,也曾在英格兰伍尔弗汉普顿的高中担任物理学科负责人。

    在加入南京威雅前,安东尼先后在无锡和上海的学校任职,曾是上海一所知名双语学校创校物理学科主任,负责IGCSE和A-level物理课程的研发与教学。

    作为终身学习的倡导者,安东尼目前正在攻读空间科学技术硕士学位,此外,他本人也是英国物理学会会士。