Boarding Education
Pastoral Care Boarding Education
 

Staff at Wycombe Abbey School Nanjing care about each pupil individually. We offer them a top learning environment as well as a comfortable home. The school is able to provide accommodation to 1028 pupils from grade 1 to grade 12.
Dormitories for grade 1-5 pupils are all equipped with single beds, rather than bunks, to ensure greater safety. Each room can accommodate 4 pupils and has two private bathrooms, giving pupils the opportunity to develop their independent life skills.

 

Dormitories for grade 6 pupils are equipped with desks and bunk beds. However, the traditional ladder design has been replaced by staircases to ensure greater safety.

 

For middle school and high school pupils, we provide rooms for 2. 

 
 

In a system of pastoral care, tutors can closely observe the progress made by our pupils, and can offer more individulised advice on their academic study and moral development. With our state-of-the-art facilities, we are able to carry out our holistic education on a "24/7" basis. In Wycombe Abbey School Nanjing, each house has a housemaster or housemistress and several tutors, who live together with the pupils, and who are in charge of classroom teaching and extracurricular activities. They pay close attention to pupils' progress in academic study as well as social skills. Tutors spend most of the day with their pupils and pay attention to each individual child, including their academic study, their hobbies, their physical and social activities as well as any problems they encounter in life. They also get to know the personal character and talents of each pupil, and help them develop their potential to the full.

 

Compared with pupils in traditional day schools, those studying in boarding schools obviously spend much more time on campus. Taking the middle school as an example, classes start at 8 in the morning and end at 10 in the evening. Pupils have a busy schedule throughout the day, sometimes even throughout the weekend. As a result, each of them can be fully committed to their academic courses, as well as their interests and hobbies, club activities and professional competitions. Thanks to developing and improving their time management skills, pupils can achieve twice the result with half the effort.

 

In their "24/7" boarding life, apart from time management skills, pupils develop many other important skills and qualities for their future growth and development, such as independence and social skills. They learn how to get along with their peers and adults and cooperate to solve problems, which not only helps them fully prepare for further studies in top universities in the world, but also leads them to successful careers and a happy life. Boarding school life also helps them develop into responsible global citizens.

 

Of course, the benefits of boarding school life for pupils are not limited to personal development. The teacher-student relationships as well as the friendship among students forged during life at a boarding school often last for a lifetime. Teachers may not only be teachers but also friends. It is thanks to this deep friendship that our graduates will keep in contact with the school after entering university and try their best to help younger pupils and contribute to the development of the school. Pupils learn and grow in the community and then give back to it, creating a virtuous circle. This is what we call a "learning community" and it is just one aspect of what we want to teach our pupils through boarding education and our teams of house tutors.

寄宿教育体系
全人关顾体系 寄宿教育体系
在威雅带给孩子全天全时的成长体验
 

南京威雅学校始终心系每一位学生的成长,将他们当成自家孩子看待。不但照顾学习,也同样照顾生活。学校共有1028个床位,从1年级到12年级,随着年级升高,住宿率也随之提升。


小学1-2年级的学生宿舍,因为考虑到安全性,全部采用单人床的形式。一间房间4个孩子,拥有2个独立的卫生间,在培养孩子独立性的同时让他们感受到家庭的温暖;


小学3-6年级的学生宿舍中,会多出专门用于学习的课桌,因此会采用上下床的模式,但是会用阶梯上下代替传统的直梯设计,以提高安全性;


到了中学,宿舍将会逐渐从4人间变成2人间,到高中的最后两年,为了确保每个学生都有自己独立学习的空间,宿舍将会变成单人间。

 

 
 

在高水准硬件设施的保障下,寄宿教育则将“全人教育”体验进一步拓展为全天全时。在提供寄宿教育的学校中,学生在校内待的时间要比传统走读学校的学生长得多,以初中阶段为例,学校在早上八点开始上课,一直到晚上十点结束,学生的时间被安排得满满当当,甚至包括周末。在这样的前提下,每位学生都将有充分的时间与自己所热爱的学术课程、兴趣特长、社团活动乃至专业竞赛进行深度“接触”,随着时间管理习惯的养成与能力的提升,24小时往往能被利用出48小时的效果。

 

在这种“7X24小时”的寄宿生活中,学生将培养对个人成长与未来发展极为重要的独立、自律、社交、时间管理等方面的能力与品质,他们最终将学会如何与同龄人及成年人友善相处,合作解决问题,这不仅仅为他们日后升入全球范围内的高等学府,更为他们开展自己的职业生涯与幸福人生、成长为有责任有担当的世界公民做好了充分准备。

 

当然,对于孩子们来说,寄宿制生活的好处绝不仅仅局限在个人能力提升。随着全人关顾体系的建立,师长们往往能在更加多元的维度上,参与并见证学生成长,在学生的学业发展、能力提升与品格教育等各方面“出谋划策”。

 

在寄宿生活中,学生与师长同学在朝夕相处中结下的情谊经常会伴随一生,师生之间的关系亦师亦友,即便在多年以后,师生之间也能保持着默契的联系;同学之间缔结的友谊亦能成为真挚的校友情谊,化为受益终生的财富。正是因为有了如此深厚的感情基础,即使孩子们毕业离开,进入大学,也仍会与学校保持联系,为学弟学妹及学校的未来发展做出力所能及的贡献。从集体中学习,在集体里成长,之后再回馈集体,形成一个良性循环,这就是所谓“学习共同体”(Learning Community)的概念,也正是学院导师制的寄宿教育想要让孩子们学会的。